The Best Thing I Ever Made

Let me start this post by saying that I am my own biggest critic.

For those of you that know me, you would probably even go as far as to say that this is an understatement.

Not to toot my own horn, but growing up I was always pretty good at most things.  I was never the best at any one thing though.  Maybe the best Honey Nut Cheerio’s customer.  I may hold that title.  People don’t think that is impressive though.  The only thing that gives me a run for my money is a family of more than 10 children. {Yes, I am saying that I can eat more cheerios than ten children combined}

This may be a “the grass is always greener” type statement, but there are definitely moments where I would trade in being good at many things to be the best at something.  Like volleyball.  Or negotiating.  It really could be anything, and my obsessive personality trait feeds some pretty intricate fantasies. {These will remain undisclosed}.

It is no different when it comes to my cooking.  The meals that I cook for myself are never as good to me as they are to the people I am feeding.  If it wasn’t for my awareness of the sometimes-harsh self criticism I emit, I could think I just have really good friends… {or really bad friends depending on if the glass is half full or not}.

One time it was different though.  One time, I made a dish that your favourite restaurant could have served you.

Portobello Burgers with Gouda and Roasted Garlic:

I found this recipe off of one of my favourite blogs: How Sweet It Is.  It was my first time eating portobello mushrooms and my first time marinating anything before I cooked it.  A risk-turned-reward!

There are several things that make this burger such a success:

1. Marinating the mushrooms for two hours in the most delicious mushroom marinade.  The longer the better.

2. Roasted garlic. Smeared roasted garlic creating an affectionate garlic-y blanket all over the toasted English muffin bun.

3. Gouda. “Gouda’s my favourite”-She’s The Man {I am the best at quoting this movie everyday. I can work it into  every conversation. #proud}

As you take a bite into this burger, no amount of napkins will ever be enough to catch the mushroom juices sliding down your arms, so I give you permission to be the best at licking your arms like an animal.

Remember, this recipe is a delicacy and needs to be treated as such.  Make it often, love it, share it, and eat it without inhibition.

Serve with friends:

Best,

Red

2 thoughts on “The Best Thing I Ever Made

  1. Pingback: My Zen-cycle | Little Red Delicious

  2. Pingback: 2012 | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

