The “Hunger” Games

It has been a while since I read a book.  Not counting textbooks and mandatory reads in high school, the last book I read for the hell of it was probably when I was 15.

With all of the stress this semester has brought on, I have not been able to sleep very well.  I have been in sleep limbo.  This is when you think you are sound asleep having a very realistic dream only to realize that you are still awake and have been for the last 2 hours.  Sleep limbo at night has caused me to be in awake limbo during the day.  I just made that term up right now but I would imagine it describes that fuzzy state of being where all you can do is constantly will yourself to stay awake.

I have heard the buzzing around Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and a friend of mine was kind enough to lend it to me.  I started reading it as a way to transition me from the busyness of my day to a sound sleep and it has been working really well.  Reading makes my eyes tired and fills my mind with thoughts other than running subjects and data entry for my thesis.  Although I am sleeping better, my awake limbo has been replaced with something worse: obsessive day reading.  If I am not reading, I am thinking about when I will have time to read.  This book is more addicting than these.

Speaking of Hunger Games, two people who were NOT hungry after last nights meal were me and the boy.

I found this recipe off of Two Peas and Their Pod.  In the last year I have really developed a love for sweet potatoes.  It started out only for sweet potatoes that were skinny as Katniss after a few days in the arena (Hunger Games reference, educate yourself people) and deep-fried like there is no tomorrow!  I then realized that if I am going to maintain a relationship with these potatoes of the sweet variety, I was going to need to start enjoying a healthier version of them.  Over time I was able to bake them, and fading out the massive amounts of ketchup I put on them, could sit and enjoy a nice plate of baked, ketchup-less sweet potatoes.

This recipe also called for kale, an ingredient I had never had before.  I decided that if I was going to be adventurous on one thing, this would be manageable. I like most types of lettuce and have had field greens and spinach on pizza before.  I didn’t know what kale tasted like but there was something exciting about how much more gourmet it made this pizza sound.

Rolling out the dough for this pizza was nothing new to me.

I have watched my dad make pizza since I was a little girl.  My dad makes the best pizza.  It is a combination of the homemade sauce and the thinnest, floppiest-but-crispiest crust that sets this pizza apart from anything else.  I need you to know that aside from Cheerios, pizza is the only thing I have loved and always eaten, even in my pickier days.  So please, take my word, my dad makes the best pizza.  Fine, I am biased, but I can deal with it.

Channeling my inner Poppa Red I rolled this baby out as thin as I could while still being able to fit it on the pan.

I think he would be proud.

Let’s just say that this pizza tasted as good as it looks.  When the boy saw this picture, he described it as a sweet potato landscape.  I thought that was clever and amusing.

This pizza was huge and looked as though it would end up being tomorrow’s lunch as well.  Which was fine because it tasted amazing.  There was no one flavour that was overbearing.  Everything just complimented each other so nicely I would describe it as light and satisfying.  Even with some steamed, seasoned broccoli and left over sweet potatoes that didn’t fit on the pizza, tomorrow’s lunch was no longer an option.

At least he liked it.

At the end of the meal, not only did I feel full, but I had a sense of pride.  Pride in my willingness to try, pride in my cooking, and pride in this blog.

I can’t wait to cook something else.

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

