What she order? Fish Filet.

I have never liked fish.  Not only did I not like fish, I detested fish.

“ How can you detest something you have never even tried?”

Welcome to the last 21 years of my life.

When my parents cooked fish on holidays it would drive me nuts.  The smell of fish cooking in my house made me sick to my stomach.

The first time I ever tried fish was this past summer when I was in California visiting my dad.  He took Kate and I to The Stone World Bistro at Stone Brewing in Escondido… what a place.

My dad ordered three dishes for the three of us to “share”, one of them being their Spicy Almond-Crusted Tilapia.  I laughed at the idea of eating something with the words ‘Spicy’ and ‘Tilapia’ in it.

Then, the craziest thing happened.  The waiter brought us our food, and I was overwhelmed with the desire to scarf down the entire piece of fish.  It was like the fish chose me. There were no feelings of detest.  No internal conflict about craving fish.  I was going to eat that fish and I was going to love it.

Should I mention now that this was the exact same way I started eating chicken?  I can remember every detail of that event. It was near the end of high school, and I was sitting in the kitchen on the phone with my soul mate best friend Kelly.  Momma Red had bought one of those roasted chickens from the grocery store for supper.  As she put the plate of carved chicken in front of me to place on the table,  I felt it.  I stopped Kelly mid-sentence and spoke the words “I am going to eat a piece of chicken right now.  It is in front of me and it is glowing and I am going to eat it”.  There was silence on the other end…

Of course a celebration ensued after that and I never turned back.  It was the same with tilapia.

My dad re-created the meal himself a few days later to confirm it wasn’t a fluke and it wasn’t.

I had eaten tilapia a few times since, but never with the fish crusted.  I chose this recipe from food.com because there weren’t too many ingredients and it seemed easy enough.

I used breadcrumbs instead of Ritz crackers and they were already seasoned so I decided to hold out on the tablespoon of Italian Seasoning.

I bet you are wondering how it tasted, right?

That fish cray.

[Momma & Poppa Red: I know you don’t get the reference… click here and skip to 1:15.  It’s what all the kids are listening to these days. Don’t try to repeat anything you hear in this song, please.]

Finally, I know you all will agree that this piece of tilapia resembles the right hemisphere of a brain!

Right?!

I knew you would agree.  I think this warrants the development of a new field of Psychology… I will call it culinary neuroscience. I am laughing my face off I feel so clever right now.

Love me.

Best,

Red.

3 thoughts on “What she order? Fish Filet.

  1. This made my night!!!!! You have come a long way since the days of grilled cheese sandwiches and frozen pizzas. This looks delicious and I am currently writing down a list of items I would like to make with you over reading week. We should probably make something with chicken……
    Love you Red.

  2. Pingback: “Are you high?” | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

