#ValentinesDay

I am not a hater of Valentine’s day.

In fact, I am a liker of Valentine’s day.

I like Valentine’s day for three reasons:

  1. Themed baking… can I get an AMEN?!
  2. Saying “I love you”. I am a huge believer in saying I love you.  A day that promotes saying these three lovely words is a good day to me.
  3. Cinnamon Hearts.

I didn’t always like cinnamon hearts #SHOCKER.  But, cinnamon hearts and I have recently become friends.  I actually really love cinnamon-flavored anything.  If a recipe calls for cinnamon the likelihood of me making it automatically increases by 25%.  That is unless it also calls for curry, sausage, kiwi or peas… rarely happens though…

So I bet you are wondering what I did for Valentine’s day, aren’t you? Or maybe not, if you hate all things Valentine’s and wish I would have posted about something else.

For starters I baked.

A couple weeks ago, Jessica from thenovicechefblog.com posted this recipe for Marbled Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies.  If this doesn’t scream themed baking I don’t know what does.  There was no question in my mind that these were what I wanted to bake for Valentine’s Day.  After I went out to buy the ingredients I was reading through the recipe and saw that they needed to be baked in a jelly roll pan.  I didn’t have one of those so I figured that I would bake them in my casserole dish.  After reading some of the comments however, I realized that by baking them in a casserole dish I would have to alter the temperature and time at which I baked them (#whoknew!).  Since I had already bought the groceries I had no choice but to make them… so… I went to The Casual Gourmet aka food lovers playpen and bought myself a jelly roll pan. I had no other options.

On a side note, The Casual Gourmet had a bowl of cinnamon hearts at the cash register so I used the little spoon and took a few while I was praying waiting for my Visa to go through.  I didn’t have time to eat all of them before I left the store and had to put my gloves on so I just shoved all of them in my mouth at once #mistake.  It was painful in and around my mouth but I still love them.  I am loyal like that.

Back to baking! These brownies were a lot of fun to make!

I ended up not buying enough cream cheese but I improvised and I still think they turned out nice.

They were a perfect addition to our Secret Cupid!

Secret cupid: similar to a Secret Santa, each of my girls choose a name out of a hat and must buy that person a special Valentine’s surprise #winkwink!

What started out as a fun way to get us all in the same room at the same time without talking about school/work/futures turned out to be a way to show each other how much we love each other.  Megan came up with this amazing idea:

Tran made personalized table settings.

#thatsme 🙂

Kate and Kat went out and bought decorations and candy.

All paired with Marble Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies and we have ourselves a Valentine’s Day party!

Here are a few of the highlights:

#outofcontrol

Here are some of my favourite warm fuzzies from the girls:


#laughed #cried #loved

So after baking and Secret Cupid…I baked some more.  Again, thenovicechefblog.com came to my rescue with these Strawberry Nutella Poptarts!  I got up super early Tuesday morning to make these for the boy.  I couldn’t find frozen pie crust that wasn’t already cut to fit a pie plate so I improvised.  All I kept telling myself were these words from Nanna Red:  Don’t make them too perfect,  you don’t want them to think you bought them from the store! Yep, no chance of that mix-up.

I jumped in my car and stealthily delivered them to the boy’s front door.

Fun Fact: Surprises and sporting events increase my heart rate to about 200bpm.

Running to the door, delivering the poptarts, running back to my car and driving away before anybody could see me put me into a state that made it very unsafe for me to drive.  Sometimes I pass out from excitement… #justsaying.

I was happy to receive this picture not too long afterwards:

This recipe was so easy!  There is no doubt I will be making it again…not for me though because I don’t like Nutella or jam. 🙂

To end off the day I headed to the boys to have a nice quiet dinner.  No restaurants, no cooking, no fuss.  A roasted chicken from the store, roasted red peppers and a ball of mozzarella cheese.  My kind of meal.  What made it better? We ate it in this.

What a fortuitous surprise!

So, if there is a lesson in any of this it is the following:

Valentine’s day can be whatever you want it to be.

Single? No problem.  Plan a date with your girls the night before, exchange warm fuzzies, and spend the actual day eating heart-shaped pizza, watching How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, and reading all of the amazing things your friends have to say about you.

Broke? No problem.  Grab a roasted chicken from the grocery store, some fabric from Fabricland and some candles from Dollerama, and with a bit of time and effort have a romantic night with your special someone while you talk about each others day.

Neither of the two? Take the one you love out on an expensive romantic night on the town, and don’t feel the need to defend yourself to those who don’t like Valentine’s Day.

I am sure you can think of at least one person you can say I love you to.

Best,

#Red

2 thoughts on “#ValentinesDay

Leave a Reply

