Everything-But-Reading Week

I have a million and one things to tell you.  So much has happened in the past week that I am afraid I cannot focus on just one topic. Ready, set, go!

1. I finished Catching Fire, the second book of the Hunger Games trilogy in 4 days. Oh Ma Gawd. I couldn’t put it down.  All the things I could have accomplished if I had the strength to resist obsessive day reading.  I am scared to start Mockingjay (book 3).

2.  I got 25% of the school work done that I wished to accomplish this week.  See above.

3.  Returning back to Hamilton has given me anxiety. See above.

4. I experienced my first failure road bump in the kitchen since I started Little Red Delicious.  For those of you who don’t know me well enough (yet) I don’t like when things don’t go the way they go in my head should.  This includes losing at games, being late, and really sucking at something I want to be good at.

Momma Red took a day off of work to spend with me during my reading week this past week, and we decided to go through our recipe box and choose something to bake together.  We decided on Nanna Red’s Jewish Apple Cake recipe.  I had never made this before and it had been so long since my mom made it that we were unsure what to expect.

It seemed like it had to bake for a really long time so we decided to check in on it a bit earlier than the recipe suggested.  At the time I was glad we did because the cake appeared to be done. The happy story ends here.  The cake that left the oven in one piece landed on the counter in ten.

I attribute this disaster to the following things.  We slightly undercooked the cake and I am still a cake-flipping amateur.  That and my elf hands were swimming in the oven mitts, the pan was hot and the plate I was flipping it onto weighed ten pounds…

I am SO glad Momma Red was there because I immediately categorized the event as a huge fail at something I want to be good at.  That resulted in me entering a full on temper-tantrum.  A teary-eyed, arm-crossed, eyebrow-touching hissy fit.  Failures in the kitchen are inevitable, but this one hurt.  Everyone should have their mom there to help them through their first cooking disaster.

Although this is my first kitchen fail since I started the blog, this is not my first disaster ever.  One time I made a grilled cheese 3 times because I kept burning it.  Not burning it, charring it.  I got so frustrated Momma Red had to step in and make it for me.  I was able to resist tears until I tried to pour ketchup on my plate and it exploded all over my shirt.  Then I cried.

Momma Red, being the puzzle-master she is, pieced the cake together to make it look as close to a normal cake as possible.  It just looked like we had cut a slice out of it…heh…

Wanna see the piece?

Bellissimo! Look at all the cinnamon!!

The cake still tasted amazing.  Wasting all of that cinnamon would have been a shame.  Maybe that’s why I threw the hissy fit.

I quite like the already-been-chewed appearance.

Yesterday I discovered Cake Wrecks and it made me feel way better about everything I have ever baked.  It is the People of Walmart for foodies.

In all seriousness, this cake was delicious, it was devoured in 24 hours, and I will make this again sans the flipping disaster… I hope…

5.  I got my first housewarming gift !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When I look at this photo, this is the song I play in my head. #TrueLove

6.  Two minutes later I got my second housewarming gift(s)!!!!!!!

When I look at this photo, this is the song I play in my head.  I dance like that too…

7.  I think I am going to start writing my first book.  It will be a picture book.  It will be called “Mom, why does my pancake look like Bambi?” This will be page two:

Any guesses?

It’s Beaker!

Dead on.

That’s pretty much it for now…

Oh wait, Jessica Chastain makes me proud to be a red.  One of us! One of us!

Best,

Red

Jewish Apple Cake

For the batter:

1 cup granulated sugar

3 eggs

3/4 cup oil (we used canola oil)

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

A dash of salt

1 tsp vanilla

For the filling:

3 large apples, sliced

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp lemon juice

In a large bowl, combine sugar, eggs, and oil.  Beat until smooth.  Add dry ingredients and vanilla.  Mix well.  Pour half of the batter into a greased tube pan.  Pour the apples on top of the batter.  Sprinkle lemon juice, 1/4 cup of sugar and cinnamon on top of apples.  Pour remainder of batter into tube pan.  Bake at 350 degrees C for 40 minutes, then reduce temperature to 300 degrees C for 20 minutes.  Let cake cool for 5 minutes. With your little elf hands, invert onto plate in ten pieces.

3 thoughts on “Everything-But-Reading Week

Leave a Reply

