When Life Needs A Face-Lift…

Yo Mother Nature…

If you are going to rain, rain.

If you are going to snow, snow.

This misty rain-snow hybrid isn’t working for me.  It is like you are spitting in my face and it’s kinda rude…

This weather is destroying my productivity.  It is cold and grey and all I want to do is crawl into bed with a hot chocolate and convince myself that if I stare at this photo long enough I will be transported here.

It’s not even the usual cold weather and wind that is so depressing… why is everything so grey?  It is like the life has been sucked out of everything.  GIVE ME SOME COLOUR!

Life needs a little face-lift right now which is exactly why you should be making this Artichoke Bruschetta Chicken for dinner.

You can add artichokes to the list of foods I tried for the first time in the last year, more specifically about three months ago.  The boy made pasta that had artichokes in it and I was definitely not expecting how tangy they would be.  It was so new. It was a tongue-lift! It was a face-lift… but for my tongue! (Thank God for spell-check, it is embarrassing how wrong I spell tongue). I also tried the Vegetariana Pizza at one of my favourite Italian Restaurants in Hamilton, La Cantina,which had artichokes on it.  Again I loved it!

I have noticed a trend in trying new vegetables, and that is eating them in pizza and pasta until I really decide I love them and can eat them on anything.  This probably has to do with my deep devotion to these two foods.  I love them so much, it is hard to screw them up with a new veg.  Tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, peppers, asparagus (yes, Moxies has this amazing Asparagus & Quebec Goat Cheese pizza) were all first tried in pasta or on pizza.  Lesson: you can pretty much get me to try anything if you put it in pasta or on pizza.  Except for red meat.  And tuna.  Don’t even try tuna, you will offend me.

We went to the grocery store to try to find “Artichoke Bruschetta” but no dice.  We looked up a bunch of recipes online but all of them called for mayonnaise and there was no way that was happening.  I decided I could make my own artichoke bruschetta:

1 Tomato (I used garden tomatoes)

1/4 Red onion

1, 170mL jar  Marinated Artichoke Hearts (We used No Name Brand… gourmet, I know.)

Salt, pepper, and oregano to taste

1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tbsp Red Wine Vinigar

Dice tomato, onion, and artichoke hearts.  Add salt, pepper, oregano, oil, and vinigar and toss to mix.

This is what our final product looked like:

From there we just followed the recipe leaving out the 1/2 cup heavy cream.  We also had a hard time finding Gemelli at any large-chain grocery stores in the area so we used Tri-coloured Fusilli instead.  The only thing better than pasta is coloured pasta.  Plus… spinach and sundried-tomato infused pasta is healthier for you…er…right?  If you are craving that real Italian Gemelli and other pasta isn’t going to cut it for you, I now know that Longo’s still carries it!  You can also order it off of the DeLallo website, whole wheat too!

So now your thinking, “Okay, this seems really fun… kicking it up a notch. And, while this pasta is helping me break through the trance that going through the motions of day-to-day living has me in, I still just wish it was Spring.”

Well, Mother Nature may not be on your side but Fruiticus–God of fruit and all things holy–is… because this is what is for dessert!

…and maybe one  two of these

I am not going to lie I had a pretty bad stomach ache after eating Fruit Mountain. You may want to portion control that a bit…

So, there is no need to hide out in your bed all day wishing you were somewhere else!  I know we will all do it anyway, I am just trying to explain to you that we don’t need to.  Spice up your meal a bit and at least for a moment you will feel like you are in a place where the sun shines more than once a week.

By the way, Happy Leap Year and ‘5th‘ Birthday to my not-so-baby step brother Nick!

Best,

Red

2 thoughts on “When Life Needs A Face-Lift…

  1. Pingback: 2012 | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

