Is It Luck?

I am so thankful for this past week.

I have had so many mental break-downs rebutted with love and inspiration this week that I have so much clarity.  I have so much work to do in less than a month, but it doesn’t seem impossible anymore.  I am sure I am not a failure.

Funny enough, with the clarity came sleep. Lots of sleep.  SOsoSO much sleep.  I needed sleep.  This morning I slept until 11:00 AM, then I laid in bed for another almost 2 hours.  This is a lot of sleep coming from someone who wakes up at 7:00 AM every morning wired, even though I don’t have class until ten.

So many wonderful things happened this week.  Three of my closest friends and my +1 got accepted into Masters/Post-Grad programs!  I am surrounded by brilliant people.

Luck only gets people so far, though.

I am lucky that I have such intelligent, driven friends.  They keep me on track.  It is not luck that are becoming so successful.

St. Patrick’s Day could not have fallen on a better weekend.  There was so much to celebrate!

This shouldn’t come to a surprise that while everyone else was day-dreaming about consuming copious amounts of alcohol, I was dreaming about baking.  Not just baking.  Themed baking.

I have a secret though.  Please don’t judge me.  The last of my mental break-downs came Thursday night, meaning Friday was recovery.  That didn’t give me a lot of time to prepare for baking.  I did something shameful.

I found this chocolate cupcake recipe from… er… well…

Well it only had 4 ingredients you see… water, oil, eggs and… do you see where I am going with this?  Don’t make me spell it out.

I got the recipe from this website called Metro, which is not a website so much as a grocery store, and the recipe was titled Duncan Hines Moist Delux, which was not so much a recipe as it was a boxed cake mix.

The icing was all Red though!!! And the mint filling!!! One hundred percent from scratch… Mmmmm think about that homemade mint filling!

Making these cupcakes was really fun.  I got to bust out my cake-decorating kits.  Yep, plural.  I don’t have a rolling pin but I own two cake decorating kits.

I made two types of cupcakes, half with mint filling and half without.  Not to judge those of you who don’t feel the same way, but mint is for gum and toothpaste only.  There is no place for mint with anything else.  Especially chocolate.

I would tell you the story about my encounter with the Girl Guide who only had Chocolatey-Mint Cookies but you would look at me differently…

I used this recipe for the mint filling, and this for the vanilla buttercream frosting.  I added a few drops of green food colouring to the frosting because typically on St. Patty’s Day things are green.

For the chocolate clovers, I melted one square of semi-sweet bakers chocolate, poured it into a piping bag (a ziplock bag with the corner cut off), and drew out shapes onto a piece of wax paper.  I placed them in the freezer for 15 minutes to let the chocolate harden again, carefully peeled the chocolate off and stuck it on top of the cupcakes.

I was pretty excited about how they turned out.  The mint cupcakes were a huge hit amongst those who like that combination.  These are probably the same people who put pineapple on their pizza.

The girls thought they were cute.  The boys thought they were tasty. To me that is all that matters.

Hope you had a great St. Patty’s Day!

Best,

Red

2 thoughts on “Is It Luck?

Leave a Reply

