What’s in your cupboard?

I am now going to introduce you to Empty Your Cupboard Challenge 2012.

As you know we are moving out of our current rental house before the end of the month.

That means that all the oatmeal, canned soup and KD we have been storing for the last three years needs to go.

Now, being lovely ladies that don’t like to waste, we are on a grocery shopping hiatus and are trying to eat everything that is left over in our cupboards… and fridges… unless it looks too scary.

Lucky for me, I am moving down the street and will be living there as soon as I move in, so it is not as imperative that I finish all of my food.  However, some people (specifically Kate), are in it to win it.  I think I may throw up if I see Kate try to swallow one more bite of the 500 packets of oatmeal she has… I can only imagine how she must feel about it.

Maybe not so much for your pantry, but if you are ever looking for a recipe to get rid of the veggies in your fridge, I have a recipe for you! Check out this recipe for Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms from Two Peas and Their Pod.

Literally all you have to do is chop up your soon-to-be-old veggies, fry them up for a few minutes, toss them on a portobello mushroom and bake!

Sprinkle some bread crumbs on there for a little bit of added texture…

The mushrooms were really meaty and filling.

Next time I will definitely pile some more cheesy goodness on then.

The funny thing was that after eating two of these, I was more full than after eating a pile full of carbs… and I wasn’t hungry for the rest of the night.

What’s one thing that has been living in your pantry for a while that may hurt you in the Empty Cupboard Challenge?

I have a box of turkey stuffing in my cupboard.  I actually couldn’t tell you when or more importantly why I would have bought that.  We might be throwing that baby out…

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

