Happy Easter…and then some!

Happy Easter!

Also, happy belated birthday to my sista from the same mista. (Also just known as my sister).

Yesterday we had a combined Easter/23rd birthday party for Jess.  The weather was so beautiful we even got to sit out on our brand new patio! Jess and I made some fruit-loaded sangria (even though I don’t drink wine… I did it more for the fruit than anything), we stuffed our faces with a lovely turkey dinner, and woke up this morning to an Easter egg hunt.  Oh wait, actually… the last part didn’t happen.  Oh yeah, because someone forgot to hide the eggs.  I won’t go into anymore detail about what DIDN’T happen this morning.

The photo on the left is the DIY art project I made for Jess for her b-day.  It turned out better than I could have expected!

It was so nice to take a break from school and get to come home, spend time with family, and indulge in these Nino D’aversa cupcakes!

Update: After throwing a tantrum when someone forgot to hide eggs, I came downstairs to find this:

You have redeemed yourself for now… also +1 for kinder eggs.

So, I know I was telling you a few posts ago that I want to start going to the movies more often.   I don’t eat popcorn and I refuse to pay for the delicious but over-sized, overpriced snacks that they sell at the concession stands. I have been trying to think of something that I could make that would be really easy to bring into a theater and munch on throughout the show.  While going through my new go-to site food52.com I found this recipe for White Chocolate Snowflakes (yes I realize this is a Christmas recipe).

I thought it sounded really tasty, and would be perfect to make in to bite sized treats, but knew that I could make it better…tastier… crunchier.

There are quite a few elements to this mouth-watering snack:

1. Peanut Butter {the original recipe called for peanuts, which I can’t eat, but thought that the dessert still needed that salty touch}

2. Rice Krispies

3.Kashi Go Lean Crunch {only one of two cereals that I will eat… also I should add that this makes this snack healthiery}

4. Crushed-up graham crackers

5. White chocolate

What is this called?

Peanut Butter Kashi-Clod-Krispies

Let me explain:

Peanut Butter: there is peanut butter in it… 🙂

Kashi: Uh… there is Kashi cereal in it…

Clod: Okay.  This comes from the delicious white chocolate covered graham cracker snack known as Clodhoppers.  Which apparently {rumor has it} they do not have in America! Along with poutine and Kinder Surprises.  Poutine is meh… but KINDER!? Just saddened for American children. Check out this link if you are still wondering what a Clodhopper is.  Just say Clodhopper. Doesn’t it feel good? It’s so throaty.

Krispies: ya.

What do you do?

1 cup Rice Krispies

1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch Cereal

1/2 cup crushed graham crackers.

Throw em’ in:

2 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter, melted

Throw that in too…

Mix it around until the peanut butter coats your tongue  mouth cereal mixture.

Melt white chocolate {sorry I can’t give you a measurement…:( I just took two heaping spoonfuls at the bulk barn.  Better to get more and save the rest for later}

Mix white chocolate with the rest of the mixture and drop spoonfuls (whatever size you would prefer) onto a cookie sheet lined with wax paper.  Drizzle them with dark chocolate if you are feeling really frisky.  Place them in the fridge or freezer to set.  EAT!

These are a great exam-time snack.  I keep mine in the freezer and just grab one every time I need something sweet.  You can wait for them to thaw but I use up all my self-control trying not to procrastinate so I just eat them frozen.  They are amazing either way!

This took me about 30 minutes start to finish including clean up time!

Happy Easter/Passover/Lovely weather/almost done my thesis/yay

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

