Crack that’s Kosher for Passover

This week is a special week.

My number one taste tester is having a leaven-less week. Eight magical days of nothing that rises.

Normally I would be thrilled to make the meringues and the tarts and the macaroons, but my darling new KitchenAid mixer is in the pile of goodies for my new apartment… sitting in my room… back home.  There is no way I would be able to whip those egg whites without it (and coconut makes me cry).

But, like any good Balabusta, I couldn’t let my boy go hungry!

According to Wikipedia, a balabusta is a Yiddish expression describing a good homemaker.  My boss closest friend Donna, coined me as this today, and she has no idea how much of a compliment it was.  Donna is the ultimate Balabusta… a Balabusta of life.  Also she is my Yiddish hook-up.

So I needed to find something sweet that would get my boy through Passover.

Since anything with egg whites was out of the question, I knew I had to seek out this thing they call Matzo.

I found this recipe for Chocolate Caramel Crack(ers) from Smitten Kitchen.

This seven ingredient sensation is better than crack.  It has all of the elements of the perfect recipe.

1. Few and easily available ingredients

2. Start to finish in under 30 minutes, including clean up.

3. Better than crack. {I know from all my days as a drug addict}

Number one and two were biggies since I have been writing up my T-word for the last week.

I promised myself and my friends and family that once I handed in my T-word, I would utter its name no more.  If  you are confused, it starts with a ‘T’ and ends in ‘hesis’ and rhymes with ‘peesis’. Good.

I haven’t really had a lot of time to plan for baking… and then actually bake.  Anything that has met the above criteria has been at the top of my list…like when I made these.

The hardest part was waiting for it to set.  I put it in the freezer but it still wasn’t setting fast enough for me!! It got pretty messy when I tried to prematurely break it up.

This was my first time trying Matzo and making caramel sauce:

It was a huge hit! Tasty, crunchy, sweet, salty…

I managed to find the little bits here and there that weren’t covered in almonds (no nuts for Red), which wasn’t easy since I drowned the entire pan in them.

If I’ve learned anything from my days as a crack dealer, it is this: {Ya, apparently now I was a dealer too..,}

You find the people in their most vulnerable state (carb-less) and you give them a taste of the good stuff (crack).  After that, the world is in your hands…

Who would like a taste?

Best.

Balabusta

Red

3 thoughts on “Crack that’s Kosher for Passover

  1. Pingback: 2012 | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

