Burnin’ Down Tha House

So, I have finally been able to recover from my semi-disastrous first night in the kitchen.  For those of you that didn’t hear what happened, I managed to cut my thumb chopping onions which distracted me enough (or at least that is the excuse I am sticking with) that I burnt the brown rice vermicelli cooking on the stove and set off the fire alarm.

My landlord is seriously questioning his tenant choice right now.

I am not going to lie, I envisioned the christening of my kitchen to be an out of this world, fantasy experience that would bring me so much pleasure I wouldn’t even realize I was cooking until it was over.  Puffy clouds and unicorns is what I expected, blood and smoke is what I received.

Luckily I was able to salvage most of my meal and managed to make a great Asian-Italian hybrid dish.  I say Asian-Italian hybrid because I am not quite sure how to classify it.

I know you spotted that red beauty in the background

Lets take a little lesson on the history of vermicelli, sponsored by Wikipedia.

Vermicelli is an Italian name for a long pasta that is thinner than spaghetti.  While I recognized Vermicelli was an Italian word, the first time I heard it was when I went for Thai food last month.  Hence I thought it was an Asian noodle.  Then when I Wikipedia-ed it, I realized that it was infact Italian.  Then then, I saw that the next web-page was a Wikipedia page for Rice Vermicelli which is in fact a type of Asain noodle.

So if you are following me here, I thought vermicelli was Asian, then Italian, then Asian again.  So the brown rice vermicelli dish I was making was temporarily classified as Asian. {Also, the packaging didn’t really scream Italian to me…}

BUT THEN! I realized that the recipe I was making {found here from Simply Recipes} was an Italian dish, not Asian-inspired what so-ever. So we have an Italian recipe combined with an Asian noodle and we have a hybrid.  It is like that Kraft Peanut Butter commercial where one kid has a slice of bread with peanut butter, and the other kid has a slice of bread with jam and they high-five their breads in mid-air.  Exactly the same.

Like I mentioned before I was able to scrape off the burnt noodles early in the cooking process and make a really great weeknight pasta dish. {You can see the burnt remnants…}

I liked eating the vermicelli noodles because you can put a lot on your fork at once and they are really chewy.

I got to use my brand new Joseph Joseph cutting boards that I posted about here a little while back.  I love them.  So much.  And yes, that is the evil knife I was using when I cut myself.  Don’t worry, that red mark is just blood tomato juice.

Also, I was just about to tell you that since it is brown rice pasta it is lower on the glycemic index but that is completely untrue and after a bit of research found out that it is actually really high on the GI.  But it is really tasty 🙂

By the way things have been headed this week, if you don’t hear from me for a while, start to worry.

Even though I may be experiencing a series of unfortunate events {oh yeah, I forgot to mention that time I was moving houses and my old landlord changed the locks on me before I could get all of the stuff out of my house} I am still in good spirits.  I have big plans for my job, school, in the kitchen, and with my friends and family.

Now all I need is the warm weather! Come fast pleasethanks.

Best,

Red

2 thoughts on “Burnin’ Down Tha House

Leave a Reply

