We Got A Real Jam Goin’ Down

My biggest fear in life is aliens.

I hate aliens.

I hate the idea of aliens, I hate pictures of aliens, and most of all, I hate movies about aliens.

1. A.I. Artificial Intellegence (2001)

2. Signs (2002)

3. War of the Worlds (2005)

4. Cowboys vs. Aliens (2011) {I didn’t hate this movie but my heart stopped and I peed myself a little every time an alien came on the screen}

I just don’t like them! Do they exist? Don’t they exist? What will they do to us if they find us?

One day I was wondering why movies always depict aliens as being stronger and more sophisticated than humans and basically taking over our world and killing us in the process. Why would I want to watch a movie like that?  One day I was discussing this with the boy and I came up with a new movie plot.  How about humans find aliens on there planet and are smarter and more sophisticated than them and try to take over their world.

Apparently that’s been done. It’s called Avatar.  Only the highest grossing film in the human world or something. Don’t be so surprised that I haven’t seen it. I knew all I needed to about it. It was a movie about blue aliens and I don’t do movies about aliens.

Well… with a few exceptions…

Men in Black. Men in Black II. I will go see Men in Black III when it comes out.

Space Jam.

Not only is it my favourite movie with aliens, it is certainly one of my favourite childhood movies.

What does this have to do with baking.

Everything.

The other day I made this recipe for gluten-free Almond Chocolate Chip Cookies from Recipe Girl.

The deal with these cookies is that it makes a really small batch and the cookies were meant to be bite sized.  The instructions in the recipe said to measure out literally a teaspoon of batter onto the cookie sheet for each cookie.  Being a fan of bite-sized anything {‘cuz you know you can eat more with less guilt…or something} I did exactly what I was told.

I literally spooned out one teaspoon of batter for each cookie.  Since the consistency of these were a little bit weird from the almond flour, they didn’t move a muscle in the oven from the shape of my measuring spoon yielding these tiny oval domes.

Since the cookies were so small they called for mini chocolate chips while all I had in my cupboard were regular chocolate chips.  I figured I would just dot the cookies with chocolate chips instead and all would be well…which it was.

The result… mini alien cookies.

Let me just clarify this is not what they looked like in the original recipe.

Not just any type of alien cookies.  Ladies and gents… we have the cast of space jam up in hurr.

Just in case you need a reminder of what the Monstars looked like I have provided you with a photo:

I present to you the Cook-alike version of the Monstars:

Green Monstar

Red Monstar

Orange Monstar

Blue Monstar…c’mon he might as well be a cyclops.

Purple Monstar

In the end the judgement call is yours, but you and I both know that there is an uncanny resemblance between the Monstars and my Almond Chocolate Chip cookies.

As far as how it tastes, it definitely isn’t the normal texture of cookie that I am used to, but these little puff balls are really tasty especially if you are craving something on the saltier side.

These miniature almond flour based cookies are the ugly younger siblings to these almond cupcakes I made last week, but don’t let their appearance fool you.  If you are baking for someone with a gluten allergy these are the way to go.

I may hate aliens, but I love Space Jam and cookies so ultimately these nerd-nuggets won me over.

Up next week: Overcoming my fear of beavers.

Kidding, I would never give those dangerous and disturbing creatures the time of day.

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

