A Whole New World

When it comes trying new things, food is not the only thing I am apprehensive about.

I am severely technologically challenged.

If I was in my 70’s right now, I would be that senior that refused to use a computer and cell phone.  I would curse at the world for moving on without me and criticize the younger generation for being glued to their gadgets.  Working with seniors on a regular basis, I have recognized that I have this type of personality and have sworn to myself that I would never lose touch with the world’s latest advances.  I figured that since I am so good at keeping New Years resolutions, when I hit forty I will incorporate keeping up with the times into my yearly vow to myself.

Many of you may not know this, but I had a lot of help setting up this blog. My amazing sister set me up and showed me the ropes, and even forced me into getting a twitter account.  After feeling so apprehensive about learning these new websites, I straight-up refused to get Pintrest.  I didn’t get it and I didn’t want to get it.  I thought about getting Pintrest from time to time but was way too stubborn to have to learn something new.  I guess I don’t need to wait until I am 40 to make this new years resolution to myself, I should pretty much start now.

Last week my good friend Jordy came over for dinner and somehow gave me more than just a fabulous recipe.  She gave me Pintrest.

Well, technically she “applied” for me or whatever you call it because you can’t just join Pintrest (which didn’t win it a lot of points in my mind).  But, a few days later, I received an email saying that I was on Pintrest.  I don’t even know if I am using the right lingo… do I sound like my parents already? {Sorry Moms&Pops Red, but I am specifically referring to when you joined/inquired about Facebook}.

I am so embarrassed about the state of my Pintrest right now that I am just going to move onto the dinner part…

What’s meaty and filling and vegan all over?

Yerp. It’s these Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers {Recipe found here!}.

These may have been just as far out of my comfort zone as Pintrest was is.

Although they called for avocado and white kidney beans and tahini (foreign foods) they also called for some great healthy veggies that are part of my everyday diet.

So… how bad could it be, right?

Not bad at all!!

I am not going to lie, I felt like I ate a four-pound baby by the time I was done… but I also never though I would enjoy baby so much!

We failed to put avocado on this because we went to the grocery store and touched every single avocado and deemed them all them unripe green stones.  When we asked the produce guy where their ready to eat section was he pointed us to the hot table at the deli. Noooot really what we were asking for.  We took it as a loss and moved on.

Another great addition to the burger that wasn’t in the original recipe was hummus.  We used roasted red pepper hummus but any variety would be great!

If you are pinterested in whether I will ever use my pinterest account for more that the two “pins” I have made already, I do plan on using it in the next week.  Two weeks from now I will be in New York City and Washington for the Lady Reds’ 10th annual shopping weekend and I think it would be kind of awesome to make a pin board or whatever you call it about the clothes I will be looking for.  Between moving and birthdays and graduations and living I haven’t bought clothes for myself since Christmas.

Red’s gonna go buck wild.

These are my plans, we will see if I can take the plunge.  A mid-summers new years resolution we will call it.  Don’t judge me if there is no activity on it ever before I go away.

Thanks to Jordy, quite the amazing chef herself, for spotting this fantastic recipe and helping me climb up onto the rail.  If I think about it long enough, the thought of being a bitter old woman will be my push!

Best,

Red

 

Leave a Reply

