Class of 2012

Congratulations to all of the McMaster graduates attending Convocation this past week.  I was blessed to be able to see all of my babies receive their degrees! Mostly because I now know whose hand I should stop to shake when I walk across the stage myself next year.

As a gift to all my friends graduating I decided to try my hand and graduation-themed sugar cookies.

Now, I may not have graduated yet myself, but I am two credits short of a four-year degree and it is pretty safe to say I have had my fair share of difficult assignments.  There were several points in the creation of these cookies that I felt cookie decorating was more difficult than a four year undergrad degree.

In fact, I was so close to the edge of a brain-explosion that I had the speckle of clarity to call it quits and try again the next day…for two consecutive days.

My challenges didn’t lie in baking the cookies themselves; that was a piece of cookie cake.

{I used this recipe from Our Best Bites. The. Best.}

Things got ugly when I started to decorate.  To start, this was my first time making royal icing. It tasted really good but I am not sure it was the perfect consistency for decorating.  It was really thick {that’s what she said}. I just… don’t know.

Second of all, I was being a lazy a** and didn’t want to dirty any dishes.  I read up on a bunch of piping techniques where you could use wax paper/ plastic wrap instead of an actual piping bag in which you conveniently throw the bag out when you are done.  There is really no use talking about this any longer since I can feel myself heating up just reminiscing, but the point is by night three I went to Michael’s and bought more resources {all of which had to be washed after use} and figured it out.  By this point it was the night before convocation and I didn’t have time to let all of the icing dry before I continued decorating.  This is why you can see the bleeding of the black icing into the white to form a green haze around the edges of the cap… oh well.

So many lessons learned.

I was happy to be able to give these out on the day of convocation.  Since we had to be there for 8 am, and it didn’t end until close to noon (not including the next hour of pictures) I think everyone was happy to get a little sugar into their systems.

And I may not have been 100% happy with the cookies but I was thrilled with all of the photos we took on both graduation days.

These boys have helped me through all of the stress of assignments and presentations and exams.  I owe a lot of my academic success to them.  Plus… it doesn’t hurt walking around with a band of attractive men.

And my Kath(e)r(y/i)n(e)s {I will not choose the superior spelling, you ladies can continue to hash it out}, the best roommates and friends a Red could ask for.  I have already and will continue to express my thanks to you…in private :).

And finally, to the rest of my brilliant friends, congrats and good luck with the next steps! Rock it.

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

