Chicken Chickpea Noodle Soup

Tuesday hit a record high of 37 degrees here in Hamilton.  It was H-O-T hot.  I was in L-O-V-E love.  I know you think I am crazy but my circulatory system is seriously flawed and I live my life with constant cold hands and feet.  You know what happens when your feet are cold? Every inch of your body is chilled to the bone.  If you had to pick me out of a line up of the hands and feet of dead people (me being the sole living person) you probably wouldn’t be able to.  I know that is kind of morbid but until you see it with your own eyes you won’t understand.  Oh, and I won’t even get started on my stop-me-in-the-middle-of-a-conversation-to-ask-if-I’m-okay blue lips. Ugh.


Anyways, yes. I was thrilled about the 37 degree (98.6 degrees Fahrenheit to my Americano readers) weather.  What else would a bloodless bodied redhead want to make for dinner in 37 degrees other than steaming hot soup?

I found this recipe for Chickpea Noodle Soup on fresh365 and then adapted it to meet all of my hot-day cravings. I halved the recipe and it was still enough dinner for 2 plus lunch the next day. I also brought some chicken and mushrooms to the party.

This soup is perfect for cold winter days (and apparently scorching hot summer days), sick days, and today–when I am exhausted from this busy week and worn-out from this overcast weather.

Chicken Chickpea Noodle Soup

Adapted from fresh365’s: Chickpea Noodle Soup

3 cups Water

2 cups Chicken Broth

1 tbsp Olive Oil

1/2 tbsp Salt

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

1/2 lb Pasta (I used Whole Wheat Spaghetti)

2 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, poached and shredded

1/2 package of White Mushrooms, halved

1 15.5 oz can of Chickpeas, drained

Black Pepper, to taste.

To poach the chicken, bring a medium skillet filled half way with water to a light simmer.  Add the chicken breast to the simmering water and cover with a lid.  If chicken is not completely covered in water, add more.  Let chicken cook in simmering water for 20 minutes.  Make sure water does not boil.  Remove chicken from skillet, and using 2 forks, shred chicken.

In a large pot bring water and chicken broth to a boil.  Add olive oil, salt and garlic powder.  Add pasta, shredded chicken, mushrooms and chickpeas.  Continue to boil until pasta is cooked through.  Remove from heat, add black pepper and serve!

We roasted some garlic in tinfoil with a bit of salt, pepper and olive oil for about 45 minutes @400 degrees in the oven.  We smeared it over some rye toast and dunked it in our juicy soup remains.

Whether you make this recipe or not you need to say the words “Chicken Chickpea”.  It feels so good.  If you are feeling extra funky you can throw a little rhythm into it… Chicken Chickpeaaaa

Best,

Red

Leave a Reply

