We’re Bringing Fresh Back

It is no secret I am a huge pasta fanatic.

I reeeealllly love a good bowl of pasta, as I expect you to as well.
Tell me you love it.
Just say it.

I may have mentioned in passing that I try my best to cut the carbs and up the fruits, proteins and veggies, and for the most part I do a pretty good job.
BUT.
There is one sinful place where I throw all of my self-control away and go bananas on everything carb-licious.
Wikipedia will tell you that the origins of pasta are highly disputed but that is because the Wikipedeers have never been to Nonna’s house.

They invented it. They make it. And they certainly love to eat it.


Don’t let the sweet smiles fool you.

They will take advantage of you in a heartbeat if it means feeding you more of their delicious food.  They will draw out every ounce of good in you by making you feel terrible about saying no to your 5th plate of pasta.

If you want to know the secret to a successful lunch it is to eat as much as you can for the 3-4 days leading into your visit.  That way, your stomach will be so stretched out you don’t have to say no to anything! {Many die at the table by starving themselves before a visit thinking they will “show up hungry”.  Have you ever tried to fit a meatball into a peanut shell?}

The point of all this is that for my birthday my Nonna and Nonno bought me a pasta machine and some free lessons.

I came.

I learned.

I conquered.

I had to do some serious investigative work to be able to bring you this recipe with actual measurements. This was the first time my Nonna may have ever used the measuring cup to measure something rather than its usual duties as a large scooper–and only because I forced her to give me concrete numbers.

The camera was my best friend because a picture says a thousand more words than this recipe ever could.

Once you know the recipe you can make any type of pasta you want.

You can leave the pasta as long sheets for lasagna, manicotti and ravioli or you can use attachments to make spaghetti, linguine or gnocchi.

And the best part is that in two and a half hours start to finish you have a fresh, completely homemade bowl of pasta.  You appreciate the taste of fresh pasta when you spend your life eating it out of a package.

It is no secret that fresh is better than boxed.  It is also no secret that you definitely wish you were at this lunch.  I am telling you this. If you aren’t envious yet you can start any time now.

And lastly, because my Nonno proves to be an endless source of entertainment, I captured the following:

Nonno thought he would shake up his post-lunch nap a bit.  I couldn’t stage this if I tried…

Don’t worry Nonno, Geography puts me to sleep too.

Best,

Red

Nonna’s Homemade Pasta Recipe

Serves 6-8 people

5 eggs

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp salt

3 cups all-purpose flour

Add eggs oil and salt to a large mixing bowl.  Whisk until eggs are beaten and add flour 1 cup at a time mixing dough together with your hands.  If the dough becomes too sticky add more flour in 1/4 cup amounts.  If dough becomes too dry, add a few drops of water.  Work dough with your hands for approx. five minutes.  Work dough into a log shape. Place in the fridge to settle for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 day.

To roll out the pasta, slice the dough into 1/2 inch rounds.  Flatten rounds out with your hands and dip both ends into flour.  Using a rolling-pin, roll out the rounds until they are flat (can fit through the largest setting on your machine).  Starting at the largest width, roll your pasta through the machine.  Gradually reduce the width setting until your pasta is the desired thickness.  Sprinkle flour over both sides of the pasta dough and lay it out on a flat surface to dry out.  It is important that the dough is dry to the touch but still malleable enough to be fed through the linguine attachment without breaking.  Once cut, lay pasta out to dry for another 20 minutes-1 hour.  Cook fresh or freeze in an air-tight bag until you are ready to eat!

Leave a Reply

