So-Cal Stole my Heart

I am writing this post for you with my tail between my legs.  It has been long. Too long.  Unnecessary.  I am not going to lie, I considered copping out today too.  I started writing this post on August 28th. August 28th! What is one more day, she says.

I miss you.  I miss you a lot, but I truly feel like I have been missing a clear mind for a while.

Let’s leave it at that for now… here is how the post I started 7 million days ago began…

“So, I have a new food for you today.  I should start a section of my blog called “Flavour of the Month”.  I have been trying enjoying A LOT of new foods for the first time in the past month and I could wait it out and feature one of these each month.  I probably won’t be able to keep that together…just thinking out loud here. Plus, hah, I am trying like soooo many new foods I wouldn’t even be able to keep up with myself.

If you couldn’t detect the pretentious sarcasm in my speech feel free to picture that now. I don’t need you walking away thinking I am a self-important snob.”

{As an aside I think we should bring back the term “snob”.  But lets use it in a way that makes it a really bad word. Gasp-worthy.}

Moving along…

“Well in order to introduce this new food I need to paint you a picture of this magical place they call San Diego.”

That is about as far as I got.  And now all I really want to do is tell you about avocados and how much I love guacamole and how some days all I can think about is making guacamole and how some days I don’t even know who I am anymore.

Oh, and how I finally went grocery shopping for the first time in a month and pretty much only bought ingredients for guacamole and how I should change the name of my blog to Little “never does groceries” Red.  The premise will be how to live off a single shopping trip for 3-5 weeks without eating out (range due to factors like body weight, gender, stubbornness and grocery-store-detest).  Nobody will read it because it is such a ridiculous, and sometimes degrading habit.

 

I thought I hated avocados because they were so mushy. I also found them bland on their own (don’t ask why I tried a piece of plain avocado).  From that single experience I refused to try guacamole.

But then I was in California.  And the weather was sunny and warm.  And the avocados were 10 for $10 {outrage! I just bought 3 for $5! Do you know how much less guacamole I can eat at these prices!?!?!} And so I started with a little nibble.  I couldn’t get enough.  I have even started eating it in my sandwiches!

My dad’s recipe is pretty similar to most of the guacamole recipes you can find on the internet except he adds tomatoes (these are a must, I don’t care if you don’t like raw tomatoes) and my Nonna’s cayenne.  It has a kick but it is not spicy.  The avocado can be very soothing on the tongue {I hate spelling tongue!!}.  That last sentence gives me a weird visual.

And if you really want to do as the Californians do, but when in Canada… or anywhere else that gets rain more than 5 days a year, not Rome though, I don’t think the Romans would do this, then you will present it like the true So-Cal power food that it is.  This involves scooping the guacamole into the rind of a watermelon and decorating it with more of the plentiful fruits of California.

Mickey’s Guacamole

3 Ripe Avocados

1 lime, juiced

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp crushed garlic (make that baby heaping)

1/4 tsp of cayenne

1 tomato, diced

1/4 medium red onion, diced
1/2-1 tsp cilantro (depending on how much you like cilantro), chopped

Remove the flesh of the avocados and place them in a medium mixing bowl, discarding the skin and pit.  Add in the lime juice and toss the avocados to coat.  Add in the salt, pepper, garlic and cayenne and mash the ingredients together (I used a potato masher).  Fold in the tomato, onion, and cilantro until the guacamole is mixed together well.  At this point you should taste it to make sure there is enough salt and pepper.  If there isn’t add more in small amounts tasting after every addition.  If there is enough salt and pepper, taste it as many times as you need to in order to make sure.  Place it in the fridge until you are ready to serve!

Here are some more of my favourite trip highlights:

Best,

Red

5 thoughts on “So-Cal Stole my Heart

  1. Hey Little Red…..have tried this and love it…tomatoes and all. Recently learned that if you leave the stones in the quacamole ti will prevent it from turning brown which happens if it is not eaten shortly after preparation……. Like you I love the stuff so much I’ll eat it regardless of colour!

  2. Pingback: 2012 | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

