The Classics

Did I ever tell you that Dirty Dancing is my all-time favourite movie of life and probably after-life?

I know, you are thinking “What about She’s the Man?” I am really good at splitting my loyalties between the two.  And it is basically asking me to choose between dessert and fruit.  Both sweet, both delicious, but distinct and equally important identities.

My favourite part of Dirty Dancing is when Baby (Jennifer Grey) is making her transition from Drab to Fab on that white bridge to The Surfaris’ Wipeout.  My post-shower routine sometime plays out in a similar manner.  Pulling off a successful recreation of that scene as I do my hair and make-up (and make 2-3 quick changes) is always an indication of a successful day.

My second favourite part of the movie is actually the very beginning of the movie when you hear those first few bars of The Ronettes’ Be My Baby.  Correct.  My second favourite part of the movie is the opening credits.  You might be thinking “Wow, this movie really sucks if the second best part is the opening scene!” No.  You are thinking about it all wrong.  That is how amazing the movie is if your second favourite part can be the opening credits.  See what I did there? Totally changed your perspective of this movie.

Anyways, there is something about that song that makes you feel happy and romantic and sexy and hopeful that you too can learn how to dance like Baby with your dance God Patrick Swayze.  It is the most iconic, life changing piece of music history! I just killed two historians and a music producer. Maybe they will have a change of heart in the after life.  I stand by my statement!!!

Times when I watch Dirty Dancing: when I am happy, when I am sad, when I am happy but want to be sad, when I am sad but want to be happy, when I want to feel nostalgic, when I am lost and contemplate a career in ballroom dancing, on the first day of spring, when I hear someone reference Patrick Swayze…

Since we are talking about the classics, I would like to pitch to you that there are four classic cookie recipes.  These are the four that will invariably be chosen by little kids first, are offered as a side at sandwich shops and cafes, and show up on every meeting/conference cookie platter:

1. Chocolate Chip

2. Oatmeal (Raisin…but ew)

3. White Chocolate Macadamia

4. Doubly Double Fun Chocolate

You can definitely choose to eat these in every scenario where you would also choose to watch Dirty Dancing.

“Yes-please’in” since I was allowed to have solid food.

This recipe for Doubly Chocolate Chip Cookies came from Hershey’s Best-Loved Recipes. They were definitely best loved by my stomach and I would bet my entire batch that they would be best loved by you as well.

Best,

Red

Hershey’s Doubly Chocolate Cookies

Hershey’s Best Loved Recipes

2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup cocoa

3/4 tsp baking sode

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees (F). Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Beat butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla in a large bowl until fluffy/  Gradually add flour mixture, beating well.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until just set.  Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet to wire racks.  Cool Completely.

EAT.

 

Leave a Reply

