A Breath of Fresh Air

My God it was a nice day out today.

After work I went for a walk into Westdale, stopped by the bank and then the grocery store.  The whole journey from work to the villi age and home took about an hour to walk, not including my stops.  Mind you since the weather was nice I went into slow-mode.  The speed of my walking has been proven to correlate with the temperature of the environment.

It was so badly needed.  A time to walk, a time to think and now, a time to bake.  I even sat down on a bench to write down some of my thoughts {You are now reading the product…}.

I also had to undo my winter jacket part way because I started to overheat.  This never happens.  A little known fact about me (no pun intended) is that I have a freaky circulation system.  The unofficial diagnosis from my doctor is that it is Raynaud’s  Syndrome.  I will spare you my weird wikipedia-worthy photos but let’s just say I have an album on my phone entitled: “My Hands”


Life is just better when it is warm out.  The natural world is happier.  Everything has more colour.

As an ode to the summer warmth, I am bringing to you these Blueberry Puree Muffins with Blueberry Strawberry Jam filling.  I could probably make this more of a mouthful for you by adding the word Explosion in there somewhere.  You know what, screw it, here are my Blueberry Puree Explosion Muffins with Blueberry Strawberry Jam…Explosion filling.  Bright in colour and bright in flavour, just like Westdale.  It also happens to be my very own adaptation of several recipes gone wrong and right in my kitchen.  I felt very creative when I reached my final product.

I also felt very full after taste-testing several earlier, less successful {but still damn tasty} versions of this recipe.

I was really happy with the way these turned out.  The muffins were dense and the fruit filling was a well-deserved burst of flavour to spruce up your morning life.  The Spice Girls’ “Spice Up Your Life” just started playing in my head.  Good for me.

Anyways, on American Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the weather today.  It was literally a breath of fresh air.

Best,

Red

Blueberry Puree Muffins with Blueberry Strawberry Jam Filling

Yields 12 muffins

Fruit Puree/Jam Filling:

Adapted from Food and Whine’s Fruit-filled Mini Cereal Bars

1 cup fresh strawberries, sliced

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup water

Add blueberries, strawberries and water to a saucepan on medium-high heat, simmer the filling ingredients until the fruit is soft. Blend until smooth and thick with a blender/immersion blender (I used my magic bullet).  Let Cool.

Muffins:

Adapted from the French Breakfast Muffins I posted about here:

1 1/2cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/4 cup milk

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup fruit puree

1/4 cup blueberries for decorating

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners. In a medium mixing bowl, stir together flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Stir together egg, milk and 1/3 cup melted butter. Add egg mixture to flour mixture; stir until just moistened (batter may be lumpy). Add fruit puree.  Mix well until uniform in colour.  Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.  Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes. Place on wire rack and let cool completely.  When muffins are cooled, carve out a well in the center of each muffin.  Eat immediately because you are working hard and you deserve it.  Place remaining fruit jam into a piping bag or plastic sandwich bag with a tiny hole cut in the corner.  Pipe jam into muffin holes.  Top with 2-3 blueberries.

5 thoughts on “A Breath of Fresh Air

  1. Pingback: Pretty Things for Pretty Girls | Little Red Delicious

Leave a Reply

