Ginger Bread Rock

I have to try to sneak in a few more things for you before the Holiday season, and thus the year, is over.

Gluten Free Ginger Bread

Now that you have warmed up to Holiday baking with my easy Almond Bark recipe, it’s time to up the challenge factor a bit–not much though! Anything is up from the 2 delish melted chocolate and almond mixing in a bowl.  These cookies have another amazing suprise to them…they are Gluten-Free!  That means you are not eating too many cookies, but instead you are taking your first step to living a healthier lifestyle.  The boy and his family might label this “Red Logic”.  The sooner you stop fighting me on it the better you will feel.

Gluten Free Gingerbread

I have a contentious relationship with ginger.  It is very fragrant and sometimes hot and many times overpowering.  The most confusing part is around 2005 people started associating me with ginger.  My friends just dropped my first name all together.  I just don’t see the similarities between my personality and ginger, except for maybe the “hot” part, heh, but still that makes no sense because I was hit with the ugly stick a few times in my early teenage years.  I had these newly straightened teeth that felt too big for my mouth, a major T-zone crisis and for some reason, couldn’t keep my eyes more than half way open in pictures…

In the end I was just really turned of by all of the “spiced” flavours.  But this blog is about change and that is what has happened.  In the last year I have developed an interest in the flavours of nutmeg and allspice and ginger and, what is any post but an opportunity to tell you about how much I love cinnamon.

Gluten Free Ginger Bread

Now-a-days you have to be prepared for everything.  Offering GF options at your holiday gatherings is just being a good hostess.  You don’t have to worry if everyone can have gluten because I promise you not a soul will know these are gluten free.  This holiday season has been the season of ginger-everything sampling and I can assure you these cookies hold together well, smell amazing and flour-less or not are the best gingerbread cookies I have ever tried.

I have posted the recipe which we snatched out of a Canadian Living magazine 4 years back. One batch usually makes around 10 dozen mini-cookies so patience, a convection oven and hungry visitors are helpful.

Best,

Red

Gluten-Free Ginger Bread Cookies

Recipe ripped out of a 2008 Canadian Living Magazine

1/2 cup shortening, softened {We used margarine}

1/2 cup  granulated sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup fancy molasses

1/4 cup  cooking molasses or blackstrap molasses

3 1/4 cups gluten-free all-purpose baking flour

1 tsp  ground ginger

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp  salt

1/2 tsp  ground cloves

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Cookie cutters, sprinkles, icing sugar etc. for decorating

In large bowl, beat shortening with sugar until fluffy; beat in egg and fancy and cooking molasses. In separate bowl, whisk together flour, ginger, baking soda, salt, cloves and cinnamon; stir into molasses mixture in 2 additions, mixing well and blending with hands if necessary.

Divide dough in half; shape into discs. Wrap each in plastic wrap; refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours but up to 24 hours.

Between waxed paper, roll out each half of dough to 1/4-inch (5 mm) thickness. Peel off top paper. Using your cookie cutters, cut into shapes. Transfer to parchment paper–lined baking sheet. If you are going to add sprinkles, do so now.  Bake in 325°F  oven until firm to the touch, 18 to 20 minutes. Transfer to rack; let cool. Decorate with icing sugar. Make ahead and freeze!

4 thoughts on “Ginger Bread Rock

Leave a Reply

