2012

In an attempt to not make this post ridiculously cheesy and philosophical, I will start this reflective post on a lighter note, spill my cliche guts towards the middle and end on a proud high note of all of the foods I have “accomplished” this year.  If my degree in Psychology taught me anything, it is that you are most likely to forget the “cheese” if I hide it in the middle somewhere.  Is anyone craving cheese now?

I will start with my top 12 favourite recipes of 2012.  These are the recipes that are deliciously fool-proof. Every time.  Like, Canadian-Living-tested-till-perfect amazing.  I originally wrote a little blurb about each of my favourite recipes but realized I was saying the same 3 things in as many different ways as a could: 1) This is the best thing I have ever made. 2) If I had only one thing I could eat for the rest of my life it would be this. 3) If you haven’t made this yet you are denying yourself happiness.  Apply to all.

1. Vanilla Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

Om Nom

2. Portobello Burgers with Gouda and Roasted Garlic

Grilled Portobello Burgers

3. Chocolate Layer Cake aka Death By Chocolate Cake {aka blood sweat and tears cake}

Chocolate Layer Cake

4. Perfect Pad Thai

Perfect Pad Thai

5. Chocolate Caramel Crack

Caramel Crack

6. Roasted Tomato Soup

Yum

7. Cuzzupelle

Seducin'

8. Guacamole

Dad's Guacamole

9. Gooey S’mores Cookies

IMG_1472

10. Artichoke Bruschetta Chicken

COLOUR!

11. Lemon Poppy Seed Scones

Lemon Poppyseed Scones

12. Homemade Tomato Sauce

Homemade Jarred Tomato Sauce

Aside from all of these successes in the kitchen, 2012 was a great year.  Not to overwhelm you if 2012 wasn’t your year, but these past 12 months have been the happiest months of my whole life.  At the beginning of the year I was nervous.  How could I be so happy? Something will have to change eventually so enjoy it while it lasts! Well, it lasted.  I successfully finished my fourth year of University, was offered my first real job, moved into my first apartment {alone!}, became closer with my family–which I didn’t think was possible, made new friends and realized how important my old ones were to me, and fell more in love with my boyfriend.  I worked hard and was rewarded.  I started new hobbies and not only stuck with them, but improved at them!  I figured out what type of person I want to be when I grow up and started working towards that person. I had fun.

Only after reflecting on all of this have I realized that maybe it is the weekly reflecting that I do on this blog that has brought me all of this happiness.  Good or bad I can lay it all out on the line, venting about the bad so I can let it go and reminding myself of the good so I can appreciate it.  I also need to bake.  A lot. Which has always been a stress reliever for me.

I will continue blogging in 2013.  I will push myself to try new foods and go easy on myself when I am too busy to post on time.  I will continue to learn the ways of my DSLR and photoshop and practice more yoga– the one thing I abandoned in the last 12 months.

To end the post here is some visual proof of how far I have come in 2012. In list form (obviously).

Things I tried for the first time in 2012:

Almond Butter

Almond Milk

Artichokes

Avocado

Baba ganoush

Bananas

Blueberries

Cauliflower

Chia Seeds

Duck

Eggplant

Green Beans

Guacamole

Leeks

Lentils

Matzo

Pad Thai

Parsnips

Peas

Pumpkin

Quinoa

Salmon

Scones

Strawberries

Tomatoes

Zucchini

…and of course developed an obsessive relationship with cinnamon.

Everyone have a safe and amazing New Year!!

All the very best,

Red

4 thoughts on “2012

    • Thank you so much! It isn’t until I sat down and went through all my recipes that I realized how far I have come. If someone told me a year ago I would be eating what I eat today I would have laughed at them!

Leave a Reply

