Veggi-Good Resolution

New Year, New Red.

Whoever just heard Amanda Bynes’ voice in their head saying “New school, new babe pool”, we are so sympatico you can have my left kidney. It’s a She’s The Man reference friends.

New dutch oven too… which happens to be red!

"Veggi"strone

So as you can see some things haven’t changed since last year, yet so much has.

After listing all of the foods I tried in 2012 I am starting this year with some 2013 new food resolutions.  For example, I would love to love eggs.  Omelets, frittatas, quiches, (I had to spell check all three of those words..) I want to love them all.  I will boycott hard boiled though, and I am take-it-or-leave-it with soft boiled.  We will be increasing the protein and decreasing the carbs.  I will never give up my honey nut cheerios in the morning though.  I should state, some things, that thing, will never change.

To all of you with your own food resolutions I wish you good luck!

I want to set an example for how serious I am about goals and about this blog so I am kicking the year off with Eating Well’s “Veggi”strone.  To most of you this looks like a healthy soup recipe, but to me it is so much more.  This recipe includes not one but two types of beans.  Beans! I don’t eat beans! I am grabbing the bull by its horns.

"Veggi"strone

The beans are just 2 of 11 vegetables that are packed into this soup.  This soup is high in protein and fiber and low in calories and fat.  As suggested by the recipe, it lends well as a base for adding a variety of lean meats or even pasta if you aren’t satisfied with the heartiness that this soup already offers.  Heck, you can try every option you can think of because this soup could feed a family of 20.  That’s at least how many minutes it took me to find room in my freezer for all of it.

"Veggi"strone

If you are planning on making this recipe, I suggest you add a bit of salt, pepper and if you like a little kick maybe even some red pepper flakes.  The broth was a bit neutral so add whatever satiates you!

"Veggi"strone

If you are wondering how a 20-some year old working-student on her own could front such a hefty produce bill, I buy all of my veggies from Fiddes Wholesale Produce (F.W.P.s) located in the West end of Hamilton, ON.  The people working there are truly amazing and most of the produce you see on my blog comes from there.  It is my Saturday morning meditation and my Sunday night dinner.

"Veggi"strone

All the best in 2013 babes and bros!

Best,

Red

Veggi-strone

Recipe by: Eating Well Magazine

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 cups chopped onions (2 medium)

2 cups chopped celery (4 medium stalks)

1 cup chopped green bell pepper (1 medium)

4 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups chopped cabbage

3 cups chopped cauliflower (about 1/2 medium)

2 cups chopped carrots (4 medium)

2 cups green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces, or frozen, thawed

8 cups low-sodium vegetable broth or chicken broth

2 cups water

1 15-ounce can tomato sauce

1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes

1 15-ounce can kidney or pinto beans, rinsed

1 bay leaf

4 cups chopped fresh spinach or one 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed

1/2 cup thinly sliced fresh basil

10 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Heat oil in a large soup pot or Dutch oven (8-quart or larger) over medium heat. Add onions, celery, bell pepper and garlic; cook, stirring frequently, until softened, 13 to 15 minutes. Add cabbage, cauliflower, carrots and green beans; cook, stirring occasionally, until slightly softened, about 10 minutes more.

Add broth, water, tomato sauce, tomatoes, beans and bay leaf; cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, partially covered, until the vegetables are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Stir in spinach and simmer for 10 minutes more.

Discard the bay leaf. Stir in basil. Top each portion with 1 tablespoon cheese.

Refrigerate for up to 5 days or freeze for up to 6 months.

For nutritional information, click here.

4 thoughts on “Veggi-Good Resolution

  1. I’m gonna do it….but will spend the next 4 months eating it….on my own as well.

    P.S…..can this soup be frozen and is it as good after thaw???

Leave a Reply

