Golden Gluten-Free Globes

The one year I actually want to watch the Golden Globes I have no cable TV and no roommates.  While Jess came to the rescue with the live stream link, it feels weird worshiping Tina Fey and Amy Poehler by myself.

Quinoa Pizza Bites

After my first week back at work and school, I am finally getting back into the swing of things.  Unfortunately my only class takes place from 5:30-6:20 three nights a week, so after working my regular 9-5 I spend 3 very tired nights hungry and unmotivated to cook.  It is these nights where I battle my voracious cravings for pizza. Hot and saucy pizza.  Be a doll and throw in some creamy garlic dipping sauce.

Quinoa Pizza Bites

Last weekend I made these Gluten Free Pizza Bites.  Tired and hungry, these got me through two more filling and tasty meals last week. The quinoa acting as the dough, these pizza bites lend themselves well to any of your favourite pizza toppings.  Plus, the taste of fresh basil reminded me of a fresh summer salad and made me feel like spring was on the horizon.  Oh wait, maybe that was the 9 degree C weather we are having in January. In Ontario… Canada. Can’t tell.

I think I have found the perfect recipe.  25 minutes start to finish, still delicious two days later, GF, protein packed and shaped like a muffin.

Quinoa Pizza Bites

Oh yeah, and if all the plunging necklines and side boobs of awards season have you “emotional eating”, don’t even think twice about scarfing down 1 or 10 of these healthy pizza bites.

Quinoa Pizza Bites

Special shout-outs to Kristen Bell and her best dressed baby belly, Kristen Wiig and her best non-dressed belly, and Isla Fisher for being the best dressed red.  None for Lucy Liu, Sienna Miller and Taylor Swift.

Best,

Red

Gluten-Free Quinoa Pizza Bites

Adapted from: So Very Blessed

1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 large eggs
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped (or 2 tablespoons dried)
1/2 cup roma tomatoes, diced
1/2 cup fresh spinach, chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Pizza sauce for dipping, I used this recipe for homemade tomato sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place the quinoa and two cups of water in a covered pot. Bring to boil and then simmer for 20 minutes or until quinoa is tender.  Mix together all ingredients, except pizza sauce, in a medium mixing bowl. Distribute mixture into a greased muffin tin, filling each cup to the top and press down gently to compact.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Broil on low for two more minutes

3 thoughts on “Golden Gluten-Free Globes

Leave a Reply

