Super Bowl Snack Time Show

I watched the Super Bowl last night.  I was a super sad clown today since I was cheering for the 49ers.

On a happier note I have decided to scrap the last year of soul searching because when I grow up I want to be Beyonce.  Seriously.  I am Sasha Fierce-ing it up starting tomorrow.  Speaking of Sasha Fierce, I went to a drag show last Thursday.  This may have inflenced my life goals.  This is also an entire post on its own so I’m gonna save it for a rainy day…

Jalapeno Crescent Rolls

I spoke last Super Bowl about the football family I was born into.  My mom specifically has stuck with her 49ers for the last 20-some years that I can remember, and she never jumped ship.  If anything you’d think she became more of a fan as the pile of swag in our house slowly grew.  I was so excited for her to see her team play in the Super Bowl.  I cheered my heart out and even though they lost, at least she can announce she is a 49ers fan with a little more chutzpah now than when I was aged 1-21.

Jalapeno Crescent Rolls

 

The boy and I watched the game at the house of one of our closest friends.  He and his family were so welcoming and kept us well fed and entertained all night.  I am so glad I made these Jalapeno Beef-Stuffed Crescent Rolls, not because there wasn’t an incredible spread of food already but because if I showed up empty handed with all they did for us I would have felt terrible.

Jalapeno Crescent Rolls

Between all of the “Game Day” Pinterest boards, choosing a recipe turned out to be harder than making a recipe.  I knew my criteria was bite-sized, portable and nothing with more than 1 vegetable in it (onion and garlic don’t count).  If it was up to me I would be eating carrots and dip and chocolate covered strawberries, but I knew I was going to be the only one without footballs of my own at this party so I went for something that covered the other three food groups as well.

 

Jalapeno Crescent Rolls

I made a few adaptations to this recipe from tasteofhome.com.  Overall they were a big hit.  They had a bit of a kick and were very filling (not that I had any, this is just what I heard.  I am off the beef.  I have also never been “on” the beef.  That doesn’t mean I have never ridden a cow, it means that I have never eaten beef.  I have not ridden a cow though, if you were wondering.  I did milk a cow when I was four… well, I had the opportunity to but I was not expecting the udder to feel the way it did -i.e. hairy and rough- and ran to our field trip leader crying as soon as I touched it.  I blame 101 Dalmatians for misrepresenting what a cow udder is like. I digress.).  The boys all went back for seconds, not that they are the pickiest of folk, but it made me happy to see them eat my food!

Now that the Super Bowl is over I have V-day on my mind.  That is a Pinterest nightmare on its own.

Best,

Red

Jalapeno and Beef-Stuffed Crescent Rolls

Adapted from Tasteofhome.com

Yeild: 24 crescent rolls

1/2 medium onion, minced

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground beef

1 package (8 oz) Herb and Garlic cream cheese, cubed

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp chili powder

1 can (4oz)  jalapenos, diced (if not already)

3 tubes of refrigerated crescent rolls

In a large skillet, sautee oil, onion, and garlic for 2-3 minutes on medium heat.  Add beef and jalapenos to skillet and continue to cook until meat is no longer pink; drain.  Add cream cheese, cumin and chili powder and stir until mixture looks uniform.  Remove from heat and cool slightly.  Separate crescent dough into 24 triangles.  On a parchment paper lined baking sheet, place 1 tbsp of beef mixture to the short end of each triangle (this is the side you would start rolling the crescent roll from).  Carefully roll up.  Space crescent rolls 2 inches apart on baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 11-14 minutes or until golden brown (mine took exactly 11 minutes).  Serve with any dip you please; the boy found some chili to dunk his into!  It is best to serve warm although I served mine cold and heard no complaints!

Jalapeno Crescent Rolls


Leave a comment